Uncategorized, Writer's Process

Inspiration – Where does it come from?

The question that bugs authors the most and is perhaps the most commonly asked question of writers. ‘Where do you get your ideas from?’

The answer is of course, ‘The Muses’, the divine bodies of thought who imbue some men with a dignity of thought and perception of the lives of man and the turning of the world. Or something…

My Untitled project in the works now has a title. It came to me a few hours ago. This is where I got my idea from.

I had gone to The Globe Theatre to watch Much Ado About Nothing with some friends. This rendition was set in Mexico in 1914. It was not good. The bard’s witticisms were replaced by slapstick comedy and pratfalls. The Mexican theme was purely to allow song and dance scenes. Cock jokes were interjected throughout. It felt amateurish and decidedly immature. The actor playing Benedick stole the show. A diamond among swine. The punters loved it. Laughs abound. Hands clapped. They had enjoyed a bawdy good time and forgotten they had come to see Shakespeare.

Of this tedium there was a line delivered that struck my mind like a Muse’s mallet over the back of my skull.

” D. Pedro.  Will you have me, lady?

Beat.  No, my lord, unless I might have another for working days: your Grace is too costly to wear every day. But, I beseech your Grace, pardon me; I was born to speak all mirth and no matter.

D. Pedro.  Your silence most offends me, and to be merry best becomes you; for, out of question, you were born in a merry hour.”

‘To speak all mirth and no matter’ is the synopsis of my new novel. I wanted a title that incorporated the ‘comedy’ and ‘tragedy’ elements of theatrical plays. The story itself is pure folly, ‘all mirth and no matter’, it has the façade of substance but is pure whimsy, yet is also tragic in it’s want of mirth in a world where there is no, matter.

‘All Mirth and No Matter’ is perfect in it’s double alliteration, draws the attention to the bard and the stories this novel is derived from.

During the play, whilst it plodded along, I was transported from my bench into my book and played with every way in which they title could be read. When I left the theatre I immediately updated the ‘In the Works’ page.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

